Original (11th)1981 GAA Allstars Poster


85cm x 45cm  Dingle Co Kerry

The Gaelic Athletic Association-Gaelic Players’ Association All Stars Awards (often known simply as the All Stars) are awarded annually to the best player in each of the 15 playing positions in Gaelic football and hurling. Additionally, one player in each code is selected as Player of the Year. The awards have since 2011 been presented jointly by the Gaelic Athletic Association and the representative body for inter-county players, the Gaelic Players Association.

Each player who receives a nomination is given a medallion marking the milestone.These are considered to be “the most coveted sporting award scheme in the country”.Since the 1960s there had been a tradition of annually selecting the best player in each position, in football and hurling, to create a special team of the year. Between 1963 and 1967 these players received what was known as the Cú Chulainn award. In 1971 these awards were formalised into the annual GAA All Star Awards. In 2006 the Gaelic Players Association launched a parallel award scheme entitled the GPA Gaelic Team of the Year (often referred to as the GPA Awards). An annual award was also given by the GPA to the Footballer of the Year and the Hurler of the Year.

In 2011 it was announced that the GAA All Stars Awards, which had been sponsored in recent years by Vodafone, and the GPA Awards would merge under the sponsorship of car manufacturer Opel. The move announced by Christy Cooney saw the achievements of players recognised jointly for the first time in October 2011.

The All Stars team comprises the best player in each position, regardless of club or county affiliation. The composition of the All Star teams are decided on the basis of a shortlist compiled by a selection committee of sports journalists from the national media, while the overall winners are chosen by inter-county players themselves. The award is regarded by players as the highest accolade available to them, due to it being picked by their peers. The awards are presented at a gala banquet in November following the end of the Championship season. Both men’s teams are honoured with a special holiday where they play an exhibition game. Since 1971 over 1,000 players have been honoured with All Stars Awards. Damien Martin of Offaly was the first ever recipient of the award, while in 2004 Paul Galvin of Kerry became the 1,000th winner of the award.

Carlow and Longford are the only county in Ireland not to receive an award in either sport.

In September 2017 PwC became the new sponsors of the All Star Awards on a four year deal, with the awards being re-named The PwC All-Stars.



Seamus  Durack Clare 3
RCB Colours of Cork.svg Brian Murphy Cork 2
FB Colours of Leinster Council.svg Leonard Enright Limerick 2
LCB Colours of Galway.svg Jimmy Cooney Galway 2
RWB Colours of Leinster Council.svg Liam O’Donoghue Limerick 1
CB Colours of Clare.svg Seán Stack Clare 1
LWB Colours of Offaly.svg Ger Coughlan Offaly 1
MD Colours of Galway.svg Steve Mahon Galway 1
MD Colours of Offaly.svg Liam Currams Offaly 1
RWF Colours of Clare.svg John Callinan Clare 2
CF Colours of Wexford.svg George O’Connor Wexford 1
LWF Colours of Offaly.svg Mark Corrigan Offaly 1
RCF Colours of Galway.svg Pat Carroll Offaly 2
FF Colours of Leinster Council.svg Joe McKenna Limerick 6
LCF Colours of Offaly.svg Johnny Flaherty Offaly 1

Martin Furlong (Offaly), Jimmy Deenihan (Kerry), Paddy Kennedy (Down), Paudie Lynch (Kerry), Páidí Ó Sé (Kerry), Richie Connor (Offaly), Seamus McHugh (Galway), Jack O’Shea (Kerry), Seán Walsh (Kerry), Barry Brennan (Galway), Ogie Moran (Kerry), Pat Spillane (Kerry), Mikey Sheehy (Kerry), Eoin Liston (Kerry), Brendan Lowry (Offaly)


Additional information

Weight 5 kg
Dimensions 110 × 75 × 12 cm
Go to Top