Original (14th)1984 GAA Allstars Poster


85cm x 45cm. Dingle Co Kerry

The Gaelic Athletic Association-Gaelic Players’ Association All Stars Awards (often known simply as the All Stars) are awarded annually to the best player in each of the 15 playing positions in Gaelic football and hurling. Additionally, one player in each code is selected as Player of the Year. The awards have since 2011 been presented jointly by the Gaelic Athletic Association and the representative body for inter-county players, the Gaelic Players Association.

Each player who receives a nomination is given a medallion marking the milestone.These are considered to be “the most coveted sporting award scheme in the country”.Since the 1960s there had been a tradition of annually selecting the best player in each position, in football and hurling, to create a special team of the year. Between 1963 and 1967 these players received what was known as the Cú Chulainn award. In 1971 these awards were formalised into the annual GAA All Star Awards. In 2006 the Gaelic Players Association launched a parallel award scheme entitled the GPA Gaelic Team of the Year (often referred to as the GPA Awards). An annual award was also given by the GPA to the Footballer of the Year and the Hurler of the Year.

In 2011 it was announced that the GAA All Stars Awards, which had been sponsored in recent years by Vodafone, and the GPA Awards would merge under the sponsorship of car manufacturer Opel. The move announced by Christy Cooney saw the achievements of players recognised jointly for the first time in October 2011.

The All Stars team comprises the best player in each position, regardless of club or county affiliation. The composition of the All Star teams are decided on the basis of a shortlist compiled by a selection committee of sports journalists from the national media, while the overall winners are chosen by inter-county players themselves. The award is regarded by players as the highest accolade available to them, due to it being picked by their peers. The awards are presented at a gala banquet in November following the end of the Championship season. Both men’s teams are honoured with a special holiday where they play an exhibition game. Since 1971 over 1,000 players have been honoured with All Stars Awards. Damien Martin of Offaly was the first ever recipient of the award, while in 2004 Paul Galvin of Kerry became the 1,000th winner of the award.

Carlow and Longford are the only county in Ireland not to receive an award in either sport.

In September 2017 PwC became the new sponsors of the All Star Awards on a four year deal, with the awards being re-named The PwC All-Stars.



Player Team Appearances
GK Colours of Cork.svg Ger Cunningham Cork 1
RCB Colours of Leinster Council.svg Paudie Fitzmaurice Limerick 1
FB Colours of Offaly.svg Eugene Coughlan Offaly 1
LCB Colours of Offaly.svg Pat Fleury Offaly 2
RWB Colours of Kilkenny.svg Joe Hennessy Kilkenny 3
CB Colours of Cork.svg Johnny Crowley Cork 1
LWB Colours of Cork.svg Dermot McCurtain Cork 3
MD Colours of Cork.svg John Fenton Cork 2
MD Colours of Offaly.svg Joachim Kelly Offaly 2
RWF Colours of Roscommon.svg Nicky English Tipperary 2
CF Colours of Kilkenny.svg Kieran Brennan Kilkenny 1
LWF Colours of Leinster Council.svg Paddy Kelly Limerick 1
RCF Colours of Cork.svg Tomás Mulcahy Cork 1
FF Colours of Galway.svg Noel Lane Galway 2
LCF Colours of Cork.svg Seánie O’Leary Cork 3



Team Appearances
GK Colours of Dublin.svg John O’Leary Dublin 1
RCB Colours of Leitrim.svg Páidí Ó Sé Kerry 4
FB Colours of Leitrim.svg Mick Lyons Meath 1
LCB Colours of Galway.svg Séamus McHugh Galway 1
RWB Colours of Leitrim.svg Tommy Doyle Kerry 1
CB Colours of Leitrim.svg Tom Spillane Kerry 1
LWB Colours of Dublin.svg P. J. Buckley Dublin 1
MD Colours of Leitrim.svg Jack O’Shea Kerry 5
MD Colours of Tyrone.svg Eugene McKenna Tyrone 1
RWF Colours of Dublin.svg Barney Rock Dublin 2
CF Colours of Leitrim.svg Eoin Liston Kerry 4
LWF Colours of Leitrim.svg Pat Spillane Kerry 7
RCF Colours of Leitrim.svg Mikey Sheehy Kerry 6
FF Colours of Tyrone.svg Frank McGuigan Tyrone 1
LCF Colours of Cork.svg Dermot McNicholl Derry 1



Go to Top