Original (9th)1979 GAA Allstars Poster


85cm x 45cm. Dingle Co Kerry

The Gaelic Athletic Association-Gaelic Players’ Association All Stars Awards (often known simply as the All Stars) are awarded annually to the best player in each of the 15 playing positions in Gaelic football and hurling. Additionally, one player in each code is selected as Player of the Year. The awards have since 2011 been presented jointly by the Gaelic Athletic Association and the representative body for inter-county players, the Gaelic Players Association.

Each player who receives a nomination is given a medallion marking the milestone.These are considered to be “the most coveted sporting award scheme in the country”.Since the 1960s there had been a tradition of annually selecting the best player in each position, in football and hurling, to create a special team of the year. Between 1963 and 1967 these players received what was known as the Cú Chulainn award. In 1971 these awards were formalised into the annual GAA All Star Awards. In 2006 the Gaelic Players Association launched a parallel award scheme entitled the GPA Gaelic Team of the Year (often referred to as the GPA Awards). An annual award was also given by the GPA to the Footballer of the Year and the Hurler of the Year.

In 2011 it was announced that the GAA All Stars Awards, which had been sponsored in recent years by Vodafone, and the GPA Awards would merge under the sponsorship of car manufacturer Opel. The move announced by Christy Cooney saw the achievements of players recognised jointly for the first time in October 2011.

The All Stars team comprises the best player in each position, regardless of club or county affiliation. The composition of the All Star teams are decided on the basis of a shortlist compiled by a selection committee of sports journalists from the national media, while the overall winners are chosen by inter-county players themselves. The award is regarded by players as the highest accolade available to them, due to it being picked by their peers. The awards are presented at a gala banquet in November following the end of the Championship season. Both men’s teams are honoured with a special holiday where they play an exhibition game. Since 1971 over 1,000 players have been honoured with All Stars Awards. Damien Martin of Offaly was the first ever recipient of the award, while in 2004 Paul Galvin of Kerry became the 1,000th winner of the award.

Carlow and Longford are the only county in Ireland not to receive an award in either sport.

In September 2017 PwC became the new sponsors of the All Star Awards on a four year deal, with the awards being re-named The PwC All-Stars.



Player Team Appearances
GK Colours of Roscommon.svg Pat McLoughney Tipperary 1
RCB Colours of Cork.svg Brian Murphy Cork 1
FB Colours of Cork.svg Martin O’Doherty Cork 3
LCB Colours of Roscommon.svg Tadhg O’Connor Tipperary 3
RWB Colours of Cork.svg Dermot McCurtain Cork 1
CB Colours of Kilkenny.svg Ger Henderson Kilkenny 2
LWB Colours of Galway.svg Iggy Clarke Galway 3
MD Colours of Galway.svg John Connolly Galway 2
MD Colours of Kilkenny.svg Joe Hennessey Kilkenny 1
RWF Colours of Clare.svg John Callinan Clare 1
CF Colours of Galway.svg Frank Burke Galway 2
LWF Colours of Kilkenny.svg Liam ‘Chunky’ O’Brien Kilkenny 4
RCF Colours of Kilkenny.svg Mick Brennan Kilkenny 3
FF Colours of Leinster Council.svg Joe McKenna Limerick 4
LCF Colours of Wexford.svg Ned Buggy Wexford 1

John O Leary (Dublin), Eugene Hughes (Monaghan), John O’Keeffe (Kerry), Tom Heneghan (Roscommon), Tommy Drumm (Dublin), Tim Kennelly (Kerry), Danny Murray (Roscommon), Dermot Earley (Roscommon), Bernard Brogan (Dublin), Ger Power (Kerry), Seán Walsh (Kerry), Pat Spillane (Kerry), Mikey Sheehy (Kerry), Seán Lowry (Offaly), Joe McGrath (Mayo)


Additional information

Weight 5 kg
Dimensions 110 × 75 × 12 cm
Go to Top